Skip to main content

How to Go Gluten-Free

How To Go Gluten-Free 

New to gluten-free living? Here's our Gluten-Free Goddess quick-start guide on how to begin a gluten-free diet. 

Foods to avoid on a gluten-free diet

Gluten. So what is it?

Gluten is the elastic protein found in wheat (this includes durum, einkorn, graham, semolina, bulgur wheat, spelt, farro, kamut, and triticale), rye, and barley. Commercially produced oats may also contain gluten due to cross contamination in processing (more on gluten-free oats below). 

What to look for- 

Recipes and products that use wheat flour (bleached or non-bleached white flour, whole wheat flour, cracked wheat, wheat bran, semolina, durum, spelt, farro, kamut, triticale) or barley flour are not gluten-free. 

In vegan products, check for "vital wheat gluten" added as a source of protein. Modern iterations of traditional foods that used to be gluten-free have sometimes added wheat flour to please modern tastebuds. Injera bread (traditionally made from teff flour), Asian rice wraps, and tortillas are such examples. They may indeed still be gluten-free, but are not necessarily gluten-free, depending upon ingredients. Check labels, always. 

Pasta used to be a big no-no (thanks to semolina wheat) but times have changed, and there are now truly delicious, alternative gluten-free pasta choices available. Just remember that traditional Italian pasta, vegetable flavored wheat pasta, spelt and whole wheat pasta, including cous cous, ramen noodles, and some soba noodles, are still not gluten-free. Read those labels!

Standard beer, ale, lager and malted beverages are not gluten-free. Foods cooked in beer- such as brats, meats and sausage- therefore are not gluten-free. Note: Gluten-free labeled beer itself may not always be 100% gluten-free. Call the company, research, and read labels carefully. 

Malt. Read those labels! Malt vinegar, malt flavorings and barley malt are not gluten-free. 

The obvious- 

Recipes and products using breadcrumbs, breaded coatings, dredged flour coating, panko, pieces of bread, bagel chips or toast, flat bread, pita, panini, croutons, bagels, croissants, flour tortillas, pizza crust, wonton wrappers, graham crackers, some granola, many cereals, wheat germ, wheat grass, wheat berries, cookie crumbs and cookie dough, brownie chunks, pancake mix, pie crust pastry, crackers, pretzels, sandwich wraps and lavash are not gluten-free.

The vegan meat substitute seitan (made with vital wheat gluten) is not gluten-free; and some vegan tempeh is not gluten-free (you must check, especially for soy sauce flavoring which contains wheat). Flavored tofu may or may not be gluten-free due to soy sauce and seasoning. Always double-check! 

Additives. Barley enzymes used in malt beverages, some chocolate chips, coffee and coffee flavors/blended mixes, flavored and herbal teas, dessert syrups, certain brown rice syrups are not gluten-free. Always check on "natural flavors" as well. 

Unfortunately, spices have become a new concern, as many single ground spices and spice blends have tested high in hidden gluten. It is important to use due diligence on the spice issue; call the company and ask if the spice or spice blend you are using has been tested for gluten. ‍ 

Gluten is sneaky. 

Remember- hidden gluten can be found in soy sauce, BBQ and stir-fry sauces, marinades, gravy, gravy mixes and gravy packets, broth and bouillon, trendy cooking sauces, instant soups, salad dressings, cured meats, sausages, hot dogs, vegan hot dogs and "fake" meat, flavored seitan, sausages and burgers, self-basting poultry, flavored and herb cheeses... you get the idea.

Watch for spice blends including curry powder, dry mustard (may be combined with flour) and ground spices such as cinnamon or cardamon. Check labels on canned and prepared foods and soups, fruit pie fillings and desserts using flour as a thickener; tomato paste, flavored sweeteners, confectioner's powdered sugar and brown sugar, prepared beverages, flavored and instant coffees, herbal teas (watch for barley or "natural flavors"), roasted, flavored or spiced nuts, jerky, flavored yogurts, puddings and ice creams, chocolate and chocolate chips, cocoa powder and instant cocoa mixes, flavored vinegars (avoid malt vinegar, and fake "balsamic" flavored vinegar), cooking wines, flavored liqueur and liquor, wine coolers (malt). Always read labels. Call the manufacturer. 

Eating out is very, very risky. 

Be aware that delis, take out food carts and restaurants may add flour to thicken soups, stews, and sauces. Some chefs add pancake mix to make an egg omelette, or use breadcrumbs to add 'body' to tuna or chicken salad. Ask your server.

THIS: Reused boiled water. Excited because gluten-free pasta is on the menu? Guess what. Gluten-free pasta might be boiled in the same pots of water used for wheat pasta (and some kitchens blanch fresh veggies in their gluten-ed pasta water).

Fry oil is reused. Avoid French fries and other fried foods that are fried in the same oil with wheat breaded foods (fried onion rings, batter coated fish, veggies, tempura, meat and chicken); ask if the flyer oil is dedicated to gluten-free food only- if not- the oil is not gluten-free.

The good news is, more and more chefs are keeping a dedicated fryer for gluten-free customers. 

So What Is Gluten-Free? 

Alternative grains, flours, starches and thickeners that are generally acceptable and appear to be safe* for celiac disease and gluten intolerance include:

Non-GMO cornmeal, corn flour and cornstarch, grits, polenta Buckwheat, buckwheat cereal, kasha and buckwheat flour.

Plain Rice- white, brown, risotto, basmati, jasmine, sticky rice (sushi rice), rice flakes and rice hot cereal.

Rice flour- white rice, sweet (sticky) rice and brown rice flour.

Quinoa, quinoa cereal flakes, and quinoa flour.

Millet and millet flour.

Sorghum flour (also known as jowar).

Amaranth and amaranth flour, teff flour.

Certified gluten-free oats and oatmeal (milled from a dedicated GF source and labeled as such).

Coconut flour, nut meals and flours- almond, chestnut, pecan, cashew.

Chick pea flour, garbanzo flour, soy (soya) and bean flour.

Cassava flour/starch, tapioca starch/tapioca flour (aka manioc), potato starch/flour, sweet potato and yam flour, arrowroot starch 

*These flours and starches are safe if milled and packaged in a dedicated GF facility/source. Check with companies to determine if they are using allergen safety protocols, and a gluten-free facility. Look for a 'Certified Gluten-Free' Label.

Pre-made ingredients that are often safe* include:

Non-GMO corn tortillas, chips, and taco shells (if fried in a dedicated GF fryer).
Pre-made organic polenta rolls with a gluten-free label.
100% Corn pasta and corn with rice pasta with a gluten-free label.
Quinoa and corn pasta with a gluten-free label. 
Chickpea pasta, soy pasta with a gluten-free label.
Brown and white rice pasta, rice noodles, rice glass noodles with a gluten-free label.
100% buckwheat soba noodles (check label).
Rice paper, rice and tapioca rice paper wraps (check label).
Unflavored mochi.
100% nut butters- almond, peanut, cashew, pecan.
100% seed butters- sesame tahini, sunflower and hemp seed butter. ‍ 

As always, call the manufacturer to determine cross contamination probability and risk. Some companies (including bakeries, local vendors and restaurants) are not 100% gluten-free, despite sporting a GF label or claim on a menu (frustrating, I know). Call and discuss best manufacturing practices and allergen safety protocols to evaluate your risk. ‍ 

Converting Baking Recipes to Gluten-Free

When it comes to converting your favorite baking recipes to gluten-free, a simple one-to-one flour substitution will not yield the same results as your recipe based on wheat flour. Gluten is a giving, stretchy ingredient that supports rise, structure, texture and kneadablity. It takes more than a single gluten-free flour replacement to make a cake, bread, muffin or cookie recipe work. A combination of gluten-free flours and starches with some xanthan gum added to improve viscosity is necessary for optimum results. If avoiding xanthan gum, try using a teaspoon of plain gelatin (or using flax seed gel). We've had great luck using plain gelatin instead of xanthan gum in our recipes.

Just starting out? ‍Try using an all purpose gluten-free baking mix to replace the flour in your recipe. It often works. If you are disappointed in the results, you might try the individual gluten-free flour combos we have come to love (see our recipes for our successes). 

And one last note- Too many starches can yield a flavorless, gummy product with little nutritional value. ‍ 

Disclaimer: The thoughts, information, and opinions expressed here on Gluten-Free Goddess Recipes are not intended to be a substitution for medical opinion. Seek dietary, nutritional, and medical advice from a board-certified physician or other healthcare professional. This information is offered as inspiration only, with a mutual acknowledgement (between you, Dear Reader, and me, recipe developer) that formulas, sources, and newer research continually change and may alter products, recipes, and risk.

My gluten-free pumpkin donut recipe is a worthy treat.


Quinoa Salad with Pears, Baby Spinach, Pecans + Maple Vinaigrette

Vegan Gluten-Free Bliss, Ya'll. And it makes a fabulous (beautiful!) Thanksgiving offering for all your guests that shun gluten, dairy, eggs, and critters. From the archives, in the nick of time... If you're looking for a fresh idea to liven up your ho-hum salad plate, Sweetcakes, have I got a recipe for you. Light, vegan, and packed with protein, this is no ordinary bunny food. It's got quinoa. Studded with nutty, buttery chick peas and crunchy toasted pecans and succulent jewels of ripe, juicy pears. And did I mention, in a bowl licking maple vinaigrette? In fact, this is a salad even salad haters would eat. You know, those stalwart gotta have my meat and potatoes aficionados who eschew anything leafy. Who snicker at fiber. And mock carrot sticks. The sort of individual who gets misty eyed for melted butter and bacon martinis. To said individuals, salad could never be anything but rabbit chow. But this lovely mélange of flavors just might piq

Gluten-Free Baking Tips + Substitutions

Need wheat-free gluten-free baking tips? Help is Here. Here's what works- and what doesn't- in quirky Gluten-Free Baking and Substitution Land. From Karina, Gluten-Free Goddess®. Baking Substitutions for Wheat-Free, Gluten-Free and More Notes on GF Flours: Gluten-free non-wheat flours generally fall into three basic weights- light starch, all-purpose medium, or heavier whole grain. A blend of medium and heavy flours with some starch mixed in to lighten, tenderize, and help bind the batter or dough works best, and tastes best (too much starch can result in a gummy texture). Light, starchy GF flours include sweet rice flour, white rice flour, and the ubiquitous gluten-free starches- tapioca starch, cornstarch, potato starch (NOT potato flour, which is whole different animal) and arrowroot starch. Medium flours are akin to 'all purpose flour'- these include sorghum flour, certified gluten-free oat flour, and superfine brown rice flour. If you cannot find sorg

How To Cook Quinoa in a Rice Cooker (with recipes)

How to cook quinoa in a rice cooker.  How do you cook quinoa? I was recently asked. The answer is simple.   Easy. Fast. Rockin'. I cook it in a rice cooker. In fact, quinoa is the easiest no-fuss "grain" you'll ever cook. It's healthy fast food. Cook up a batch ahead of time and you can stir up a fabulous light lunch (like the Lime Quinoa Salad with Mint ) in a New York minute. Well, maybe a Los Angeles minute. No wait. A Santa Fe minute. I can't keep up with where we are these days. It doesn't matter. It's all good. Try these favorite quinoa recipes and you'll see for yourself. Love, Karina xo How to cook quinoa in a rice cooker: 1. Using a fine mesh sieve rinse 1 cup of organic quinoa in cold water. Drain. 2. Dump rinsed quinoa into your rice cooker. 3. Add 2 cups fresh water* see notes. 4. Turn on your rice cooker. That's it. In about fifteen minutes* you'll have hot fluffy quinoa to play with.

Gluten-Free Goddess Bread Recipe - dairy-free and rice-free, too

One Delicious Loaf... Man shall not live by bread alone, so the famous saying goes. In other words, we need ideas to feed us, too. We need awareness. Conscious action. An expression and celebration of the spirit. And yet (here's the sticky part, folks) almost every spiritual tradition includes the bread we shall not solely live by, whether it be a hand-torn loaf, a paper thin wafer, a piece of matzoh, a curve of naan, or a sprinkle of cornmeal. Breaking bread and sharing grain is a cherished and beloved symbol for community, celebration and tribal nourishment. From Holy Communion to the Super Bowl gatherings around an elevating principle or a family milestone (from birth to marriage to funerals) include the simple but connecting gesture of sharing food. Because cooking makes us human. And eating illustrates our kinship with the entire animal kingdom. Humans are animals, after all, interlinked and cousined by astonishingly similar DNA and subatomic particles from the

Sweet Potato Black Bean Enchiladas

YES PLEASE.  This award winning budget-friendly Santa Fe inspired vegetarian enchilada recipe is one of those happy accidents that springs from a burst of creative imagination. Or rumbling hunger. In that what-have-we-got-in-the-pantry sort of panic. I was craving the soft and spicy comfort of enchiladas one windy spring night back in 2003, and I had none of the usual suspects on hand (no chicken, or beef, no pinto beans).  But! I had one lovely mother of a sweet potato.  A can of organic black beans.  Some roasted green chiles.  One lonely lime.  And your intrepid Mamacita-Goddess at large thought, Hmmm. Why not? Deliciousness ensued. These wrapped little gems are soft and creamy and a little bit spicy- Just like a certain cook , my point-scoring husband wisecracks. It's the yams, I tell him. Er, sweet potato. I can never tell the difference. Can you? In the end, it doesn't matter.  What matters is how it tastes. And darling, these are so mucho scrumptiou

Gluten-Free Goddess Brownies- The Best

Why bake a gluten-free brownie from scratch and not a mix? While baking mixes are perfectly acceptable in a pinch, and no doubt a boon to busy cooks on a gluten-free diet (well, honestly, who isn't busy, preoccupied, overwhelmed, and anxious these days, I ask you?), your taste buds will tell you why. In a heart beat, Darling. A dark chocolate brownie made from scratch is deeply delicious and decadent. Impressive, even. Company worthy. Dare I say, date night worthy. I'm not kidding. This brownie recipe is swoon inducing. (You know what they say about chocolate.)  But here's the best part. Throwing this recipe together takes only a few minutes longer than opening up a box of mix. In fact, you can whip up these luscious gooey babies in a mere ten minutes. In less time than it takes you to scan your daily dose of cute animals IG feed.  Seriously.  So what is more rewarding? Watching baby donkeys frolic on Instagram or stirring together this rich, tender, dark chocolat

Gluten-Free Goddess Blueberry Flax Muffins

Blueberry Flax Seed Muffins - My New Fave. Several years ago we left Cape Cod (our home for years) for our empty nest gypsy adventure. We sold the sofa, kitchen table, and boxes of cookbooks. We recycled toys and jeans and an old PC. The open road was calling. And we listened. The western sky hung big and blue above the high desert arroyos of New Mexico. It felt as deep and wide as an ocean. We thought this signaled home. But I missed the sea more than I ever could have guessed. So we moved to Los Angeles and tried on four different neighborhoods in as many years. I grew adept at packing and shedding and shelved my books by color . I luxuriated in each and every hour spent with my two grown sons. A gift, each shared coffee date. Movie night. Christmas dinner. But the city of Los Angeles was never my home. Its entertainment culture felt as walled off to me as the adobe and iron gates in Santa Fe. I felt invisible. And irrelevant. And undernourished. My restless feminine soul